American Society for Quality
 Section 0904 - East Central Indiana
PO Box 3147  Muncie, IN 47307-1147

The source of Quality Professionalism in East Central Indiana

Home ] Calendar 2012-13 ] Membership ] Certification ] [ Scholarship ] Re-Certification ] Officers ] Jobs ] Web Links ] Education ] Newsletter / Web Page ] Sponsors ] Connections ] History ]



Congratulations to the 2011 Recipient
of ASQ Section 0904ís Fifth annual Halmond Parks Scholarship. 


Taylor Davis

    Taylor is a 2011 graduate of Delta High School and will attend Trine University in the Fall.


The Halmond L. Parks Scholarship

The scholarship is named for one of the Founders of the national ASQC organization and the founding chairman of ASQC Muncie Section 0904. 

Mr. Halmond L. Parks was Director of Quality Control, Ball Brothers Company in 1949 when he organized and received a charter for Section 0904 from the national headquarters of The American Society for Quality Control. Mr. Parks served as the first Section Chairman in 1949/1950 when the section consisted of 10 quality professionals. The section has grown to its current roster of 127 quality professionals.

The $500 scholarship is intended for a high school senior planning to continue his/her education.

Eligibility of Applicants

Any high school senior with a GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale and residing in Blackford, Delaware, Grant, Henry, Jay, Madison, Randolph, or Wayne counties in the State of Indiana is eligible for the Halmond L. Parks Scholarship.

Students may elect to attend any 4 year college or university, any 2 year college, or any trade school.  There is no requirement for field of study. Any field of study chosen by the applicant is eligible.  

The recipient(s) of the Halmond L. Parks Scholarship will be determined by the ASQ Scholarship Committee based on information in the application. The scholarship(s) will be awarded by the ASQ Leadership Committee at the annual ASQ technical meeting held in May.  The recipient must provide a letter of acceptance from a college or trade school so that awarded funds can be paid to the educational institution on behalf of the student.

Recipients must join ASQ as a Student member. Application for Student memberships is available online and click on Join ASQ. The annual fee for Student membership is $25.00 per year.

Applications postmarked after April 18th will not be eligible for consideration.

Please return the linked application to:
 Scholarship Committee
 ASQ Section 0904 
 P.O. Box 3147 
 Muncie, IN 47307-1147

Include a transcript of high school grades and a letter of acceptance from an institute of higher education.

Deadline: April 18, 2014

Scholarship Committee:
Rich Ruh
RDR Consulting , Muncie, IN 
(765) 284-3954